Bill Nichols Media Award

The Bill Nichols Award was created in 2010 to recognize a sports information professional or a member of the media who has demonstrated an understanding and passion for amateur athletics, while covering the students and programs of NCAA Division III and the OAC.  The award is named for longtime Cleveland Plain Dealer sports writer and Baldwin Wallace alum Bill Nichols.


Past Award Recipients

2021- Jim Wharton (WTAP-TV)

2020-Terry Pluto (The Plain Dealer/

2019-Mark Znidar (Columbus Dispatch/Press Pro Magazine)

2018-Chris Wenzler (John Carroll)

2017-Tom Usher (Lima News)

2016-Ed Syguda (Otterbein)

2015-Harry Paidas (Mount Union)

2014-Big John Wharff (WMOA Radio)

2013-David Glasier (Lake County News-Herald)

2012-Joe Tait (Mount Union)

2011-Bill Robinson (Marietta Times)

2010-Ron Miller (The Daily Jeffersonian)